Posted by: Viola | May 30, 2016

A natural *high*–SummerWords!

I am buzzing with positive energy. I am jumping with joy. I am having a natural “high” thanks to SummerWords. It was a great weekend, so awesome to be around like-minded people, artists and writers, creators and innovators, mentors and supporters, friends. The ability to move among these people who love the things I love–words, books, poems, stories–and just absorb all their love for their artistic work and mirror that love back to them, what an incredible experience!

I shared with people that I’d worked on a manuscript and that the project had been a finalist for a poetry prize, but I needed to take a break from it. They encouraged me to return to my project and not give up on it. Keep working at it. Keep sending it out. Keep opening up chances for it to get published. Their encouragement made a difference because I feel more open to the idea of going back to my manuscript (perhaps in the summer or fall) and taking another look at it.

I also shared with people that I am job searching and working toward becoming a librarian. I shared with them my story of applying to an MFA program and getting turned down. I shared with them my recent decision to go to grad school for library science and follow my new-found desire to be a librarian (and my not-so-new passion for libraries, places I’ve loved for as long as I knew they existed). I received many words of encouragement and tips for my job searching and career journey. I felt very much loved and supported, at times by complete strangers.

What a wonderful thing to experience! To meet new people who don’t need to know you well before they offer you great support and kind words. This is what community is all about! ❤

We all lead busy lives with myriad commitments. We don’t have tons of time to get to know each other really well. But when we come together, we know we share a common journey, as humans and as artists and creators–it’s the human story. We are all on that journey, we are all in that story. And we don’t need to know much more in order to encourage each other on that shared journey. We open our hearts and wish each other well and say, “How can I help? How can we help each other journey well?” Then we talk; we give of what we have–we give of our time and words and loving kindness. And it makes all the difference in the world. Because it’s new energy, new light, new wisdom for the road. ❤

“To meet new people who don’t need to know you well before they offer you great support and kind words. This is what community is all about! […] When we come together, we know we share a common journey, as humans and as artists and creators–it’s the human story. We are all on that journey, we are all in that story.” ~Viola Allo

Leave a Reply

Categories

