Posted by: Viola | March 14, 2016

Run After a Child

Run After a Child
by Viola Allo
*
**
*
Those who do not have children
do not understand
what it is like
to run after a child.
 
They are not practiced in
the art of commands
and the art of
running
 
from room to room
yelling them.
 
Screaming the commands,
endless commands
that take the form of
endless questions.
 
Did you wash your hands?
Did you eat your food?
Did you finish your food?
Did you put your plate away?
Did you put your toys away?
Did you pick up your clothes?
Did you pick up your shoes?
Did you take a bath?
Did you brush your teeth?
Did you floss your teeth?
Are you done whining?
Are you done crying?
Can you stop?
Now?!?
 
Can you get up from there?
Can you get out of here?
Can you leave your sister alone?
Can shut the TV off?
Can you shut that game off?
Can you shut yourself off?
Can you shut up?
Have you done your homework?
Did you read that book?
What did your teacher say?
What did your father say?
Where is your brother?
Why haven’t you gone yet?
How many cookies did you eat?
Did you throw up?
Where is my pen?
Did you take my pen?
Haven’t I told you not to take my pens?
Who touched my phone?
Haven’t I told you not to touch my phone?
Do you understand anything?
Do you want a spanking?
Do you want me to…?
 
Honestly, my voice
is hoarse
from all of this
running.
 
Those who do not have children
do not understand
what it is like
to run after a child.
 
If they did,
they would not have children.
Or at least, they would prepare
to lose their voices.
 
Late at night,
when my children are asleep,
I am at peace. I stop running.
And it makes me giddy
with excitement
for the day
when they will move out
of my house
and take with them
every single
question I have asked them.
May my voice,
which they have destroyed,
follow them
everywhere
like a curse.
*
**
*
By Viola Allo. All rights reserved. Please contact the author for permission to use or share this poem..
Responses

  1. Lovely Post, Keep Spirit 🙂

  2. Good Post, I Like It


Leave a Reply

Categories

