Posted by: Viola | January 11, 2016

Going gluten-free in 2016

Starting a few days before the new year, I began cutting out gluten from my diet. This means, I have had to give up some of my favorite foods. And when I say favorite foods, these foods are such staples of my diet that it is hard to imagine living without them. Foods like bread and pasta. But it has been done, so far, and I have gone without eating wheat for about a week and a half.

I have noticed one change…a small but important one. I am prone to joint pain, especially in my knees and most recently in my wrists. It frustrated me a lot, because I have a relatively healthy diet and do lots of yoga and joint exercises. So it seems strange for me to have inflammation in my joints. Inspired by some advice from my brother, who now follows a gluten-free diet, I did some reading and learned about inflammation caused by gluten.

I am happy to say that I am pain-free in my joints, for now. And this is wonderful. No achy wrists. No sharp pain in my knee. And I am curious to see what else improves, as I continue eating gluten-free foods. Perhaps my mood and energy levels and sleep quality will improve. Perhaps. That would be very nice. Very, very nice. ❤

Responses

  1. I did the same a few years ago.. Helped my joints and weight loss.. I reintroduced in small amounts a year later and the tolerance is much better.. Good luck to you. Taruna

    • Wow…that’s inspiring…so maybe once my system is more balanced, I might be able to enjoy a croissant or a slice of cake… 🙂 I am doing my best to get creative with alternative grains to eat and ways of baking breads and desserts with gluten-free flour…focusing on eating lots of fruits and veggies…

      • Perfect… If you are tempted don’t go beyond a bite until you can more easily walk away.. Denial has more negative power than the damage of one bite!!

      • That is a great piece of advice… I am doing everything possible not to cheat…because I really am a wheat-lover… 🙂 I think what I crave isn’t so much the wheat item itself but the taste of it in my mouth… so am trying to get things that are tasty and yummy… but without wheat… I made gluten-free persimmon bread and it came out quite good… so maybe I can make a gluten-free brownie bake instead of craving my usual chocolate cake… 🙂 Next thing I want to make is a grilled cheese sandwich on gluten-free bread… hehehe


Leave a Reply

Categories

