Posted by: Viola | October 25, 2015

A special person visits California

This weekend, we had a special guest in town. He came all the way from Oklahoma to hang out with us. That special guest was my Papa. He flew in on Wednesday and left on Saturday. It was wonderful to see him. Each year, beginning in 2014, I’ve visited my father, who moved from Cameroon a few years ago and settled in Oklahoma. Each year, in the spring, I get to visit him and get a taste of the tornado season in Oklahoma. Whew! I stay close to that storm shelter, I tell you. 🙂 Well, it was pretty awesome to have my dad here this weekend. We talked, we cooked, we ate, we visited with friends and family. It was fun, fun, fun.

The older I get, the more I value every single moment I get with my parents, my mom and dad. I live with my mom, so I get to enjoy her company every single day. My dad is far away, so when I get to be around him, I try my best to get as much quality time as I can get. I enjoy my father’s cooking…he makes some delicious food…and this is quite special because Cameroonian men don’t traditionally spend too much time in the kitchen, if any at all. Cooking is considered, quite strictly, women’s work. So when I see my dad in the kitchen, lovingly stirring his creations and adding spices, it really inspires me. And spoils me.

Yes, I’ve been a little spoiled, or a lot. I told my father that he is responsible for making me hold out for a nice guy who is willing to cook for me. Thanks to my Papa, I know what it’s like to be spoiled, and now I won’t settle for any thing less than the best for me. What can I say? I like to eat, but I don’t really like to cook. So there you have it! Good luck to me. And good luck to the man who thinks he can marry me and make me happy. He better have an apron and set of good pots and pans. 🙂

The highlight of the visit, one among many awesome moments, was when my dad took a huge piece of the chocolate cake I bought for him and had it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. The cake was a vegan cake. A vegan cake from Whole Foods Market. A vegan chocolate mousse cake. And damn, that cake is magnificent. Just looking at it makes me drool. My father loves eating meat, so it was fun to get him something VEGAN. This is California after all, and when in California, we do what Californians do. We do the unexpected thing, the new thing, the hip thing, the cool thing. We eat vegan cuisine…even if we aren’t dedicated vegans.

My father got a taste of the California way, and I am so happy and grateful for the opportunity to be a part of that. I can safely say, this is the first time he has eaten a vegan chocolate mouse cake. No time better than the present to try something vegan. And never a dull moment around here. My father also got to meet two of his grandsons for the first time ever. It was amazing watching him interact with them. This weekend was one of many new experiences for my father. So proud of him for being a joyful presence around us.

Love you, Papa. Thank you for visiting and being part of the adventure called this family. ❤

Responses

  1. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

