Posted by: Viola | August 21, 2015

What Happened to the Cameroonian Poet Who Fell in Love?

What Happened to the Cameroonian Poet Who Fell in Love?
by Viola Allo
***
I am going to become a cliché.
Going to become Viola The Cliché.
Become a stereotypical wife.
Wait! Worse than that. I’ll become
a stereotypical good, Cameroonian wife.
I’ll cook your dinner. Learn to make your traditional dish.
I’ll do your laundry. You won’t have to wash a single sock!
I’ll iron your shirts, even press your cotton-white
undershirts and underwear. The hot iron will slip sometimes
and burn my skin, but I will bear it and wear the scars
as the script of a love-note tattooed
on my body by my own hand.
I’ll polish your black shoes.
I’ll mop the floor on my hands and knees.
I’ll rub your feet. At night.
I’ll give you a sweet life.
I’ll bake and decorate a birthday cake for you.
Have a baby or two for you.
I’ll make you look good.
I’ll build you up, layer you
with so much love
that your brown skin will
be thick and glossy with it.
People will say, “Oh. Look at that Man!”
They will wonder what kind of oil
I cook with, what kind of meat
and spices I put in your food.
And I will smile because
I’ve never been a great cook but
I got this one sauce right–the recipe
for how to make you happy.
People will see my swollen tummy
and will wonder what happened to me,
what happened to that woman
from Cameroon who was
devoted to poetry,
what happened to the woman
who said she would never marry.
And if anyone cares to ask me, I will say:
I gave her away. I gave that woman away.
Or perhaps she was taken. Taken away.
Stolen one day. Stolen away.
But I let it happen.
I gave a great poet away.
Gave her to a man from Cameroon.
And what for? I gave Viola The Poet away
all because a man looked into my eyes,
stroked my chin, put his hands
in my hair, and told me:
“You are beautiful.”
*

 photo e97c6665-5247-4ca0-b8f4-be47001ade6a_zpsjqbwcyep.jpg

*
By Viola Allo. All rights reserved. Contact poet for permission to use/share this poem.
Responses

  1. Reblogged this on FindPalava Woman.

  2. Beautifully crafted. You have a way with words 🙂

  3. Are there really any momen like this one in the world? The woman is too devoted to that man!

  4. i love it

  5. Such an interesting piece! Keep up the great work, Viola! 🙂

  6. Viola, this has the effect to make me sad and happy, both at the same time ❤ It is not easy to find a man worth this much of love and pain. This poem took me to a fantasyland.

  7. What an intense piece of writing!😊

  8. Woww..awesome 🙂

  9. Lovely 🙂

  10. nice

  11. I want to be such a wife even I am only a student.

  12. Reblogged this on Trang web của tôi.

  13. This is terrific! Just the right amount of romance i have always preferred. Take a look at my new blog at
    https://aleenas0510.wordpress.com/

  14. […] week, I received a message from an editor at WORDPRESS. She had seen my poem, What Happened to the Cameroonian Poet Who Fell in Love? and enjoyed reading it. She said the poem would be featured in WordPress’ FRESHLY PRESSED cue […]

  15. Beautiful; The last line is a master stroke.

  16. Ah, love. How it ruins and completes and inspires us… Wonderful piece, congrats!

  17. Nice

  18. Beautiful poem, delicate passions, nice craft …….collectively very impressive

  19. check my blog! x

  20. Good 1

  21. beautiful!

  22. Wao it’s beautiful

  23. Lovely one Viola. Don’t give her away … it would be such a shame if she was lost, there is

  24. … a beauty in her words which will never fade! (pressed ‘send’ too early on first part).

  25. I agree, beautiful and intense!

  26. it is so deep! wow I can really feel it. I created a new accound and I hope I’ll also be able to touch people like you do! great work!

  27. I love the way this is written. It was hard not to get caught up in the emotion of your piece. While I was reading I was responding to the woman’s words asking her why she would sacrifice herself like that. But, at the same time, I was impressed that there was someone she was willing to devote herself to and hoping the man also devotes himself to her with a similar passion. In piece that gets a person thinking, feeling and responding is a successful one. Bravo. This is beautiful.

  28. Reblogged this on wtcbank.

  29. Beautiful, moving piece

  30. My mother-in-law’s name is Viola. She is the kind of wife you describe and an example for me as a creative, intelligent, independent thinker. I often think about writing their love story. But to your poet, Viola, the poems of the heart never go away.

  31. I really liked this poem, was thoughtful and provocative. Thank you.

  32. […] Source: What Happened to the Cameroonian Poet Who Fell in Love? […]

  33. Hii Viola..this poetry is so intense.. Makes me happy and sad simultaneously.. True love is really a boon..and then I guess all this pain of a woman is worthed.. Beautiful poetry.. 🙂
    And yes I really want to reblog this one..:)

  34. Poet or not… When will women stop giving themselves away… I know too many and they look at me as if I’m the strange one… !!!
    Fantastic poetry
    Look forward to reading more of your work

  35. Really amazing status.This status help me to remember my past love…..Love is one thing …Nothing is as Love……love is only one the best gift of Allah…..Love control the world…
    I like to inform to follow my link :https://mirmahfuz24blog.wordpress.com/

  36. So this was the was the first wordpress that I have ever read. Strangely excited, very crafted.

  37. Very beautifully crafted poem. 🙂

  38. Simply wonderful. Made my heart skip a beat.

  39. I loved this so much. So sweet to read. ❤️

  40. […] https://letterstocameroon.wordpress.com/2015/08/21/what-happened-to-the-cameroonian-poet-who-fell-in… […]

  41. WOW I love the depth of emotions balanced by simplicity of the words artfully chosen. You make reading poetry so enjoyable!

  42. hi im a new blogger i would LOVE ut if ud check out my first post and tell me what u think ❤️

  43. great poem!!!

  44. #Amazing
    #🌷🌺

  45. great artwork!!!

  46. If anyone has a minute can you take a look at my page 😎

  47. Beautifully beautiful !

  48. lovely

  49. Intensely beautiful

  50. Thank you all so much for the wonderful comments! I appreciate your words immensely. This is a special time I won’t forget. It’s made me so incredibly glad to be a poet, even though it hasn’t been an easy path. It’s my passion and every single day, I come home to poetry. Being able to share a poem like this with so many readers is an absolute honor. Thank you for reading. And thank you, WordPress, for making it all possible. ❤ ~Viola

  51. A mans success rests on the shoulders of a strong ”poet” nice piece clear imagery. Loved it!!

  52. Beautiful! Such a beautiful poem! 😀

  53. Viola ; your word’s charmed me like violin

  54. Great one thre

  55. Wow… Beautiful

  56. Sacrifice for the love will never be wasted even if it is the poetic mind.

  57. That is a beautiful poem! u are very talented.

  58. Extremely good…!!

  59. Hehe. So that’s how men do it.

  60. Reblogged this on yunus56khan and commented:
    Hello

  61. Reblogged this on Mon site officiel / My official website.

  62. “I gave that woman away” oh the beauty and power of your poem!

  63. Follow me back.. thanks 🙂

  64. Beautiful just beautiful! A great way of narrating a story through poetry. Thank you for sharing,

  65. thank you
    Fantastic blog
    Good luck to you

  66. Beautifully put

  67. It is amazing.it is beutiful. You are my wonders

  68. am Cameroonian too

  69. Powerful! Pure passion. The sharing of happiness, adulation but with an uneasy undertone. The balance of both is perfectly depicted. Is this woman in the poem really happy or not? I want to know!! 🙂 But then again it just goes to show how complex our emotions are, how many layers happiness has, how we can feel fulfilled but be longing for something or feel vacant at the same time. Beautiful piece!! Thank you for sharing!!

  70. very nice…
    visit our blog… I hope you like it…

  71. This is amazingly beautiful …

  72. This poem is beautiful😍❤️

  73. wonderful…

  74. Lovely!

  75. Great!

  76. Awesome. ,

  77. […] https://letterstocameroon.wordpress.com/2015/08/21/what-happened-to-the-cameroonian-poet-who-fell-in… […]

  78. Aww, this was too cute. A new twist to cliché and a different way of looking at the people we think “changed” after marriage or finding The One.

  79. Very lovely!

  80. Very bold and beautiful

  81. That’s so touching. Wonderful

  82. Nice blog can u visit my blog I am 8

  83. Spell binding poem.

    • Thank you so much for your words! I am so glad to know you read the poem. I value the opinion of a Cameroonian man since this poem is about Cameroonian marriage and LOVE…even if quite romanticized and idealized. 🙂

      • I read the poem. I enjoyed your writing style. I like men who respect their wives and let them have the sense of self worth that they are due. It was easy to relate to many of the things you said. I see and live them.

  84. Very nice master piece. Made my heart to be excite. In every lines. .keep it up . 💖💖💖

  85. […] Source: What Happened to the Cameroonian Poet Who Fell in Love? […]

  86. Nice

  87. The overly romanticized,
    Patriarchal society,
    Has made a fool
    Of poets like you and me;
    But I swear on my muse
    That I will put the lesson to good use.
    I’ll rise
    A Phoenix rose
    From the ashes of compromise,
    Casting off shoddy yesteryears ~
    Athena’s confidence in my hand,
    On the ground of fair justice I stand.

    • Wow! This is great! Thank you for sharing your lovely verse. ❤

      • It was in response to your moving poem. ❤

        Well penned and deserving of being on Freshly Pressed (most I find, aren't).

  88. An incredible love story! Well written.

  89. Congratulations on the excellent and outstanding as bloc.
    Regards, Antonio

  90. Lovely woman who sold Viola the poet away to a man from Cameroon. Beautiful story!

  91. Greaat! Check out my travel blog

  92. You have a beautiful blog. Can check mine out?

  93. Wow che belli quei fiori

  94. Emotion. Power. Passion.

    “You are beautiful.”

    This piece is, too.

  95. Thank you so much. I appreciate your words immensely. I am so grateful that this poem was “Freshly Pressed” by WordPress and has been shared with many wonderful people from around the world. It’s an honor for me, a dream come true. It brings me great inspiration and encouragement to share a poem with so many readers and fellow writers. ❤ 🙂

  96. wow ❤

  97. Bravo. 😀

  98. How beautiful is this!

    • Please check out my blog. Ive penned down 2 poems up till now. Thanks in advance. 🙂

  99. gorgeous

  100. Lovely and moving!!

  101. Reblogged this on Kania-Info .

  102. I think I’m absolutely in love with this poem!

  103. I like this.
    I’m not from Cameroon but I know that many people with ties to third world countries would probably share the sentiments.

  104. Beautiful poem, I envy your talent! Some of my favorite (ESL) students were from Cameroon.

  105. […] journalist in Chile, Jaime Troncoso, made this plaque for my poem “What Happened to the Cameroonian Poet Who Fell in Love?” It is beautiful. Gracias, Jaime! Thank you for this […]

  106. […]  © Viola Allo […]

  107. Things we do for love ☺️

  108. I love this piece.Beautifully brought out

  109. So gorgeous! I love the passion and emotion behind your words.
    “People will see my swollen tummy
    and will wonder what happened to me,
    what happened to that woman
    from Cameroon who was
    devoted to poetry,
    what happened to the woman
    who said she would never marry.
    And if anyone cares to ask me, I will say:
    I gave her away. I gave that woman away.”
    Absolutely stunning!

    P.S. I have just created my first blog and am new to WordPress. If anyone has the spare time….Check out my blog? Pretty please? 😀

    • Thank u so much. I will definitely check out your blog.

  110. Beautiful , Viola . Congrats . It’s all worth it isn’t it . Love Love Love

    • Thank you so much for sharing your words with me. I appreciate it. Love Love Love ❤ 🙂

  111. Reblogged this on Enter the monarchy of marvelous hope.

  112. A beautiful piece indeed.. I can really feel the emotions beneath the words.. very well written., 🙂

    • So glad you enjoyed my poem. Thank you so much for sharing your words and thoughts with me. ❤

  113. This resonated with me. Outstanding.

    • Thanks so much for stopping by and reading and sharing your words with me. I appreciate it so much and I am glad you enjoyed my poem. Many blessings. ❤ 🙂

  114. beautifully written..!! 🙂

    • Thank you so much! So glad to read your comment and have you stop by my blog. Thanks again and have an awesome week. 🙂

  115. […] In September, by blog was featured on WordPress’ Freshly Pressed page, and this brought lots of new traffic to my blog, and now I have a lot more followers than I had ever envisioned, and my poem featured on Freshly Pressed has received almost 800 “likes” (You can read the poem here: “What Happened to the Cameroonian Poet Who Fell in Love?“) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

