Posted by: Viola | June 16, 2015

Recap: Poetry reading for Day of the African Child

Feeling a little disheartened. The audio did not work properly today for the show I held, in celebration of Day of the African Child. But I restarted my laptop and things worked better after that, and those who stayed were able to spend 20 minutes with me and listen to poems about children and childhood in Africa.

I read poems from my BIRD FROM AFRICA chapbook and poems that have been published elsewhere. I had hoped to read an unpublished poem but did not have enough time. I look forward to a future reading, with a similar theme, so that I can read and share more of my poetry on the subject of childhood.

At the start of the reading, I shared a link on the Soweto Uprising, for those who might have an interest in reading about the creation of Day of the African Child and why June 16th is celebrated as a holiday honoring children and youth in Africa.

I appreciate the patience and understanding of all those who attended. I am so sorry for the glitches. Not sure what went wrong, since this has never happened before, but I appreciate your patience so much. Your support is phenomenal! As one attendee said, “Don’t worry, it has happened to other artists as well.” And she is so right. This kind of stuff happens all the time…and though I never thought it would happen to me, I can say that it has humbled me and makes me feel even more grateful for just having this kind of opportunity to share my poems, virtually.

Attendees today came from UK, Norway, Denmark, and the USA. This is magical. I am going to keep doing this, no matter what glitches and obstacles come my way. To poetry! Onward! ❤

 photo c520dfb3-9441-4dc1-8684-34a9ed12a115_zpscmunfutd.jpg

Responses

  1. I’m confident that the 20 minutes spent with you more than made up for the glitches. This is magical. Keep sharing!

    • Thank you so much! I am encouraged. I am communicating with the tech people to make sure that if any glitches occur I know what to do next time. I need to be informed, so this is helping me be prepared. So far, so good. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

