Posted by: Viola | January 25, 2015

Chapbook author’s copies arrived!

On Wednesday this week, January 21st, there was a loud knock at the door. A delivery man with two boxes. For me. I wasn’t expecting anything, so I was surprised. I walked to the door, thinking: what was this about? And after receiving the boxes, I wondered: what on earth is this delivery for me? Well, it was my copies of the Chapbook Series! I was so thrilled that I couldn’t actually open the boxes. I simply put them away and didn’t open them for two days. Two whole days!!!

It just so happens that this week was an important one for another reason. I was finishing up my first official draft of my manuscript, the one I have been working on for about a year now. I had finished the draft in late December (at least to my satisfaction) but needed to do some organizing and proofreading and editing. The holidays and my various part-time jobs distracted me, and I got off track. So this week, with a few days’ break from my multiple jobs, I took the opportunity to finish off my revising. That is what I was working on when the boxes arrived. I decided to put the boxes aside, keep working on my manuscript, and not get distracted.

I finished the manuscript on Wednesday night, actually more like early Thursday morning. I still needed to go through it but felt ready to let go. Late Friday night, I sent the manuscript to the editor/publisher. I hope they will be happy with the draft, though it still needs a lot of work, am sure. It is nerve-wracking sending my writing to anyone…but this cannot be avoided. For literary work to be alive, it has to be read and shared with others.

In any case, on Friday morning, with my manuscript done, I felt ready to shift focus and open up the boxes that had arrived. I was very pleased with what I saw. The box set is beautiful. My own chapbook is also very beautiful. I am insanely happy. Crazy joy. I sent a note last night (Friday night) to the editors and publisher of the chapbook box set, just to say thank you to them for making this wonderful collection. And then I began reading it!

So it has been pretty much an incredible week. Phenomenal. Not just the beautiful delivery that came to my door. But also finishing the manuscript I have been working on for a while. Finishing that draft and sending it off has lifted a lot of weight from my shoulders. And then seeing the chapbook box set has brought me to a new level of bliss. I am tired, however, and now trying to rest. Not a long rest. Just a short rest. And then I will get some exercise, because all this writing and reading is altogether way too sedentary for me.

Here is what I am holding in my hands right now. I couldn’t be more proud of everyone who invested in this project and made it a reality and a glorious celebration of contemporary African poetry. ❤

 photo cf2e46cd-f803-49ba-8021-57786d5225de_zpsi9vlzfhm.jpg

Responses

  1. Congratulations 🙂

    • Thank you so much… ❤

      • You’re welcome 🙂

  2. […] I still can’t believe it because my brain seems so porous sometimes. I struggle with my memory quite a bit. Now, I think I will start giving my brain more credit, start trusting it to really recall things (even actual days/dates!). To reaffirm my highly accurate brain’s recollection of the arrival of my chapbook last year, here is a blog post I wrote about that whole beautiful experience: Chapbook author’s copies arrived […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

