Posted by: Viola | December 23, 2014

My first chapbook is almost here!

A few weeks ago, late November, just before thanksgiving, I got an email from the publishers of my first chapbook. The email contained the cover design for my chapbook. It was a wonderful email message to wake up to. And the design is awesome, as is the cover art and all the excerpts/captions/words on the cover. I don’t want to spoil the surprise. Suffice it to say, it looks pretty awesome, radical, amazing, beautiful, haunting, humbling, intense. I will run out of superlatives if I keep this up. So I will stop there. It’s coming out in a few months. It’s almost here. I can’t wait.

To see the box-set cover (which is separate from the actual chapbook cover, since the set has 8 chapbooks in it and each one has it’s own cover art) visit the publisher’s page *here*. Special thanks to all the African Poetry Book Fund staff and managing editors and special thanks to the publisher (Akashic Books, New York) for making this chapbook box set so beautiful. I am immensely grateful to Kwame Dawes and Chris Abani for their wonderful support and encouragement, for seeing something powerful in my poetry and giving me this chance to share it with the world. It’s an honor for me to be a part of this project. And above all, it’s a joy to see my poems in print and share them with an even wider audience of poetry readers.

Here’s to 2015 being a year of great poetry! ❤

Responses

  1. congrats!

    http://www.artbecomesyou.com

    • Thank you! And Happy Holidays…. ~Viola


Leave a Reply

Categories

