Posted by: Viola | November 20, 2014

Celebrating my birthday

This month, I celebrated my birthday. It was a quiet celebration. Nothing fancy. Just with family. It’s been such an incredible year. I feel that the year itself was a complete celebration. A huge time of triumph. My year of many beautiful victories.

This past year of my life, I managed to experience some of the most amazing events of my life. I traveled with my sister on her first music tour along the west coast of the USA and all over Europe. Wow! And then I somehow got myself together and put my first manuscript in order and submitted it for a chapbook series. And now my first chapbook is on its way to publication. Wow! Wow! Wow! I also spent some of the year traveling with and visiting my father. And that was very magical. I love my father beyond words. And having time with him, after not seeing him for several years, was simply extraordinary. I made him and his family my delicious oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, and he was blown away! It was a special time.

This year has been challenging, in the sense that I multiplied my efforts in every aspect of my writing life. I began blogging steadily and keeping this online journal and several poetry notebooks. I attended a writers’ conference which galvanized my work in so many ways. I connected with poets and writers all over the USA and drew inspiration from them. I created my own literary goals and began reading lots of poetry collections and books on writing, to help myself stay current with what’s contemporary in the writing/poetry world. I am still working on familiarizing myself with what’s out there, what people are publishing and what kinds of writing/authors I might feel drawn to or inspired by. The hugest challenge, of course, is that I am working on my next manuscript, for a full length book. And it’s required me to make some sacrifices in order to keep focused. But with lots of great support from friends and family, it’s coming together and I hope to have the manuscript ready for submission by early 2015.

Looking back on this year, I can see just how much I have grown. It’s so easy to assume that only kids grow, by leaps and bounds. But as an adult, I feel that I am growing, learning more and more and simply expanding. It goes slowly, at times, but this year, everything happened faster than I had ever expected it would.

I am now starting another year of my life. And I am starting it with confidence. With lots of self-assurance. I believe that I can achieve the things in my life that are most meaningful and valuable for me. I can live each day fully and peacefully. I can love my family, unconditionally. I can strive to be better, as a poet and a person. I can write to my heart’s content. I can value and appreciate others and all the goodness in my life. I can be happy. I am happy.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME! AND MANY MORE YEARS OF MAGICAL MOMENTS! ❤

Responses

  1. Shout out to you Vio and belated happy birthday… keep rocking… keep writing…

    • Thank you! I will do my best. ❤


Leave a Reply

Categories

