Posted by: Viola | October 8, 2014

Manuscript organization begins

Today, I officially begin organizing my manuscript. I have so much work to do that I cannot think about it. I just need to do it. No thinking. Just doing. Doing. Doing. The sections of the manuscript are far from complete. Everything seems chaotic. An overwhelming jumble. I am hoping and praying that this is temporary and that, by some magical force, the pieces will fall into place and come to rest together, exactly as they should be. And all will be well. I am excited to see the completely assembled manuscript. It’s gonna be a rough draft, honestly. So it is nothing to make a big splash about.

It’s going to take me several months to get it all together, as I work on individual sections, and as I see how things fit together and what order makes sense. For now, I am working hard to put my fears and inhibitions and doubts aside. If I feel blocked and unable to move forward, I stop working and take a break, do something else, forget about the project, cook some food, watch TV, read a book, look at old photos, do anything but write. Then I get back to work when I feel ready and brave again.

Last night, as if on cue, my dreams conspired to encourage me. I dreamed about shuffling papers around and organizing them. Various pieces of writing had been printed on the pages and had titles. I could see the titles clearly, as I organized the pages in a big binder/folder. I was surprised at how much I had written and how many different papers I needed to shuffle and reshuffle. In the dream, I wasn’t really aware of what I was doing. It’s only when I woke up from the dream that I thought to myself, AHAH! I was organizing a manuscript in my sleep!

I take this dream as a sign that it is time for me to start the real-life shuffling and reshuffling, whether or not I feel prepared to and ready enough to begin. It is time. So the process is underway. I am giving myself a pep talk today: YOU CAN DO IT, VIOLA. YOU WILL DO IT! This will be my mantra until the manuscript is ready for submission. ❤

Leave a Reply

Categories

