Posted by: Viola | April 26, 2014

Travel Slowly, Kiss Earth

This just occurred to me. I have been in a lot of cars and buses and trains and airplanes. And let’s not even talk about all the walking and running I have done. And I know people who have done even more traveling and movement than I have. There are boats, which I have not had much experience with. There are motorcycles. Wait, there are bicycles. And skates and skate boards, and skis and snowboards. You name it. We live in a world of near constant movement. With lots of ways to move. Some people like to move super fast. The faster the means or method of travel, the better for them. I find that what I like is the slow way to travel. The slower the better. Cars are ok. Planes, ok for very long distances and oceans. But I like being on land, moving slowly. I like buses. Slow buses. I also like trains. Fast trains are ok, but I prefer slow trains. I like to look out the window. And see everything that I can. I like to doze off and wake up with lots of travel time left to look out of a window, a moving window. Me, at that window, looking at a moving world. I like to just sit still and study the time, as it passes. Watch how I can do things with the time. How I can make it short or long, depending on my thinking. If I relax, the time is perfect. If I am restless, the time seems to move glacially, painfully, slowly. If I sleep, the time seems to vanish. If I talk to someone, the time really vanishes, especially if the conversation is good. Like the time I traveled and sat next to a handsome young man, and he talked and talked and I had never seen a man talk so much and it was so refreshing and enjoyable to me and he leaned in close to me and whenever I spoke he looked at me as if he wanted to liftoff and levitate–maybe because I was really listening to him, really speaking to him. And when the journey was over, we went our separate ways but the conversation kept on going, kept on traveling in another dimension, unfolding in a parallel world, a place in which two people feel visible and understood. And I think that’s what it boils down to for me. To be able to move across the planet, and notice it, really see it, try to understand it. Sometimes, when I walk, I want to kneel down and kiss the earth. Traveling slowly, in a bus, or a train, going for a walk, running through a park, these are just ways for me to see the world, kiss it with my eyes, cherish it with my senses, and touch the world, honor it with my feet.

***

Kiss the Earth by Thich Nhat Hanh

Walk and touch peace every moment.
Walk and touch happiness every moment.
Each step brings a fresh breeze.
Each step makes a flower bloom.
Kiss the Earth with your feet.
Bring the Earth your love and happiness.
The Earth will be safe
when we feel safe in ourselves.

 photo c929f35d-dc6a-4b7d-8481-55135612fd58_zpsc5ac18b3.jpg

Responses

  1. Vi, that’s why I really love running, beyond the health motive. Running (and walking) allows you to notice and experience things you just can’t in a car. It allows you to really feel a place. It’s beautiful.

    • I agree 100%…I don’t feel that I am truly in a place until I have walked some of it’s streets, sidewalks, parks, and really let me feet sink in. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

