Posted by: Viola | April 23, 2014

Rest: A Poem for the Weary

Rest: A Poem for the Weary
by Viola Allo

Rest. Rest. Rest, if you can.
I know there are things to do.
But rest if you can.
I know there are people needing you.
But rest if you can.
I know you will say there is no time.
So…ok, then just rest when you can.
And am sure you could ask me:
What’s the use of sleeping now?
And I could try to convince you
but why bother myself? I mean,
honestly, where’s the difficulty
in simply listening to your body?
Just sit. Still. Close your eyes.
My friend. Close your eyes.
There is nothing to do, really.
There is nothing doing.

***

By V. Allo. All rights reserved. Contact author for permission to share/use this poem.

Responses

  1. My favourite part:

    “And I could try to convince you
    but why bother myself? I mean,
    honestly, where’s the difficulty
    in simply listening to your body?”

    Reminds me of a write-up I’m yet to finish.

    Indeed, ambition no dey sleep, e be human being wey for sleep (Ambition doesn’t need sleep, it is the human being that needs sleep.)
    I guess that quote is quite befitting.

  2. Hi Royyce. Thanks for stopping by. I agree…ambition can be a sleep-less thing. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

