Posted by: Viola | March 18, 2014

Emotional Poet

For the past week, I have been feeling very emotional. I wake up and don’t know where to put my feelings. I am so excited. I think the excitement is a bit much and now I get emotional and teary-eyed a lot. I don’t know how to express my joy. I have to keep checking this page over and over again. Making sure that it is really me. That the name on the list is really mine. That one of the poems here is really mine. That I have made it into the finals for a poetry prize. And not just any poetry prize but one that is for Africa. This is truly special. A long time ago (it seems), I made a promise to write for myself, but it is really wonderful to know that the poems I wrote primarily for me are poems that others can read, enjoy, and maybe even relate to. It’s an awesome feeling. I think that poets all over Africa and poets from Africa who are in need of encouragement and inspiration can feel supported, can feel that their work will be read, can write for themselves but can also know that if they want to share their work, there are many places for sharing (at home and abroad) and those places are expanding and we can find and enjoy the works of other African poets and take heart from that. Note to my readers and to myself: Please write. Don’t quit.

Leave a Reply

Categories

