Posted by: Viola | February 11, 2014

Be your own best Valentine

I have been single for most of my adult life. I am comfortable with solitude. I keep myself company quite frequently and I do so very well. I do not feel lonely when I am alone, and solitude does not feel like loneliness to me. I miss the people I love when I am not around them, but I appreciate my alone-time. Very much so. Still, Valentine’s Day can be an annoying reminder that I don’t get to call someone “my sweetheart” and I don’t get to celebrate romantic love. Thankfully, I have learned over the years that love is something I definitely have in my life, and above all, love is something I definitely feel for myself. Valentine’s Day has now become for me a day of celebrating all the wonderful forms that love can take. Most especially, it’s a day of reinvesting in myself the wealth of love that I have in my heart and appreciating that I am whole and complete, as I am. Here is a fun list of things to do to celebrate you on Valentine’s Day–because, whether you have a sweetheart or not, you are worth it! ♥

Say “I Love You” to You. When you wake up in the morning and stand in front of your mirror, perhaps as you brush your teeth or dress for work, whisper the words “I love you” to the person in the mirror and look that person in the eye when you say it. Mean it.

Treat yourself to something special. Plan for it, think about it, get excited about it. Take yourself out on a date or buy yourself something you’ve been longing for. Perhaps a book by a favorite author, tickets to a concert you want to see, a session with a coach, a pair of shoes you like. Whatever puts a smile on your face. I will be taking a walk on Valentine’s Day and that puts a big smile on my face.

Say “Thank You” to someone who makes you feel gorgeous. You have someone like that in your life. It might be your mom, your sister, your friend, your co-worker, or even a stranger behind the counter in a coffee shop who always has a big smile waiting for you and who tells you that you have amazing style. Write that person a Thank You note or say Thank You in your heart. That’s the person to think of whenever you feel less than amazing. That person reminds you of what love and kindness feel like.

Take a few minutes to see the beauty of your life. Make a list of all the incredible things in your life, things from the past and things in the present. People, places, events, experiences. There is some magic there, maybe in the open or hidden somewhere in your life. Find it and draw it out, examine it and celebrate it. And then imagine all the wonder that’s yet to come. Anticipate it and know that love abounds in your life. There is no shortage of it. Never has and never will be.

Love & Namaste, Viola

Leave a Reply

Categories

