Posted by: Viola | August 1, 2013

To My Friend

To My Friend
by Viola Allo

I saw you today. I talked to you today. Every day that I get to see you and talk to you is a gift. I have been getting so many gifts for a whole year now. It’s exactly a year since we met. You always give me the gift of your time, your listening, your words. You make me feel cherished. This is the first time in my life that I can say I truly understand what it means to be valued, accepted, celebrated, loved–unconditionally. In addition to these wonderful intangible gifts, you give me very tangible gifts. You prepare a plate of warm food for me. You give me a blanket if I feel cold. You offer me a bed to rest on if I am tired. You offer me a pair of warm shoes. You point to your bookshelf and tell me I can borrow and read any book I want. You read my poems and give me your interpretations. You see things in my poems that even I, the author of them, cannot see. You ask me to show you yoga poses even though I know you are a better yoga practitioner than I am. You honor me in this way. You allow me to shine. You do this so effortlessly. I try to think of things I can do to let you know just how you have saved my life. I try to and all I can do is marvel at the gift of you and your radiant heart that explodes with kindness. I remember the first day we met. I knew immediately that you were going to be an important person in my life. I just didn’t realize at the time how important you would be. Now, a whole year later, I live in awe of the surprise of our friendship. Thank you for being a friend to me, a sister to me, a mother to me, a soul mate. I will see you tomorrow. I will talk to you tomorrow. May our friendship be as timeless as our souls. May our friendship be eternal. I will see you soon, talk to you soon, light a fire for you, brew a cup of tea for you, listen to your stories and tell you my own, live in every moment we share made infinite and grand by the magic of your friendship. Thank you for being here, thank you for being you, thank you for my joy, thank you for my life.

***

By Viola Allo. All rights reserved. Please contact the author for permission to share or use this poem.

Leave a Reply

Categories

